#FlashFictionforAspiringWriters. I Took the Fall.

Flash fiction by Pamela Schloesser Canepa at its best! Pamela is also one of our RAVE REVIEWS Book Club BOOK OF THE MONTH Jule, winners.

pamelascanepa

Snakephoto-20170703153949475Photo credit, Kecia Sparlin.

I headed back to the yard with my garden hoe.  I hate killing living things, but this bugger looked poisonous.  He was further back in the brush.

“Sure, you keep your distance now.”  I sat on the ground, sweating.

“You would too, Missssssssss.” His tongue darted out.

I jumped.  “What?”

“Yesssss.  It’ssss me.  Come on, I am alwaysss judged by my outer cover, my ssscales sssso to sssspeak.  It’sss not fair.  All because of Hisssstory, mythology, whatever.”

“I’m sorry.”  I looked at him through new eyes.  It had to be a he, though who could tell?

“Yessss.  Imagine what it’sss like.   Way back when, Armadillo sslipped up.  You know he’s a good candidate to stand for evil.  But no, I defended him.  I took the fall for him.”

He actually looked sad.

It seemed he’d started to trust me.  He’d slithered out from the bush…

View original post 111 more words

Leave a Reply

