I downloaded this beautiful collection of love poems a while ago and have been reading and re-reading many of them. I love Nonnie Jules rhythmic and often rhyming style of putting thoughts together in a most satisfying way. I was also happy to read some of Gianni Jordan’s work.

Book Description

This is a book of poetry for and about forbidden love. These poems are sexy, sensuous and hot, but most of all, they are poems of love… and the feelings they arouse in you are unbelievable! They “feel” like love songs and you will “feel” like singing, but they are only spoken words coming from your mouth, without music. If you aren’t in love before you begin reading this book, you will go seeking a love afterwards.

My Review

By MarethMBotha on 22 May 2017

Verified Purchase

I’ve not read “If Only There Was Music …” in one sitting and the first part of the book, “Through HER eyes” written by Nonnie Jules is especially fabulous to read. I’ve read some of the poems many times and I’m always enthralled by the depth of emotion displayed via the words the poets use. To write successfully about a painful experience such as unrequited love is quite an achievement. At the same time there are also poems which extol love for what it is – a wonderful thing between a man and a woman – an unforgettable experience, no matter how old such lovers become, or how long ago that special love happened. Some of my especially memorable poems are: 

I DON’T KNOW, I’VE NEVER BEEN – wonderful lines, written in a rhyme-poetic style which I love very much: “I’ve never cared that someone loved me with all their might But I do know that I can love you, until my day fades to night.” Also, WE KNOW – such great romantic stuff! THE REALITY – is again completely different – a truly forbidden love for those who fall in love with someone who belongs to another and again Nonnie Jules says it so well: “Needing him so close Yet knowing he’s far away Makes it hard to see the sunshine On a bright, sunshiny day.” Space will fail me here, but there is BETRAYED, IF YOU SHOULD EVER … the list goes on.
The second part of this book is written by Giani Jordan – “Through HIS eyes” in LOVING YOU writes about “Love, you Take away the breath I need to Sustain me And give so much more; Fire in my heart, Peace Within my soul Found only Loving You.” Reminiscent of Captain Frederick Wentworth’s words to his beloved Anne Elliot – reminding me of what true love is all about. Poetry expressed can convey deep running feelings so perfectly. Other highlights are: THE WONDER OF YOU LOVING HER ACROSS THE MILES. I felt that the “COLORS OF THINGS” is especially worth mentioning as he writes about a lost love, “Silently He reaches out Embracing a memory A phantom That has fled His dreams Colored by green, Grey, brown, blue and red.” And “MUSIC IN MY SOUL”.
I do believe that some of these lyrical poems written by both authors need someone who appreciates their rhythm, prose and thoughts, taking each poem to even a greater height by adding a composer’s musical score.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25054808-if-only-there-was-music-the-poetry-of-forbidden-love

Biography 

Nonnie Jules is a mom, a wife, an author and also President of Rave Reviews Book Club. Her passion is children and her advocacy lies in supporting others and encouraging others to do the same. She has authored other fine books such as: “The Good Mommies’ Guide to Raising (Almost) Perfect Daughters,” “DAYDREAM’S DAUGHTER, NIGHTMARE’S FRIEND (A Novel),” and “Sugarcoatin’ Is For Candy & Pacifyin’ Is For Kids!

http://www.booksbynonnie.wordpress.com/

Thank you for visiting my blog today.  Don’t forget to COMMENT/FOLLOW if you wish beyond ABOUT ME!

8 thoughts on “Review – If Only There Was Music … – Nonnie Jules and Giani Jordan

    1. Thank you so much, Natalie! I have been pouring more over poetry – something I used to do much more years ago – now being among such a great group of writers, including poets, I’m glad that I’m rekindling that particular interest. I look forward to reading more of your poems too. What I’ve read thus far, I’ve enjoyed very much! All the best and thanks so much for popping in!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I enjoyed your review of “If Only There Was Music” by Nonnie Jules and Giani Jordan, Maretha. I had a similar reaction when I first read these verses too. I too especially enjoyed the poetry of Nonnie Jules. It is a beautiful collection.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think appreciating poetry is like our reaction to any of the arts – we all have our own taste and not all types of art, music, or poetry will appeal to us. On this particular collection, Maretha, we concur.

        Like

      2. Yes, you are quite right. I keep forgetting that poetry is often as good as if not better than for example, a beautiful painting, which often speaks a 1000 words or diverse thoughts to us. Certain poetry does just that – it reverses the picture back into words – not always an easy thing to achieve successfully, but in this book, I think the authors did it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

