Blog Tour – Tia Shurina, Day Five

tia-shurina-author-pic

I am very happy to host Tia Shurina on my blog today.  Please take a look at some of the books which inspired her along her path of  finding a happy ending and living a fulfilling life.  I hope you enjoy her comments as much as I did!

A good day and much gratitude your way, MARETHA BOTHA for the lovely present of your platform to speak about my own stuff on DAY FIVE of my blog tour.

The path to promoting my book has been challenging at times.  This is interesting to me. My initial thought was that finding a publisher would be an excruciating journey; as an inexperienced, non-professional writer, and once it was in book form, getting people to want to talk about it, would be easier. . . even though I was very scared to do that.  I knew how important it was that I use the time (while the manuscript was moving through the process to become a book) to work on that fear.  In a bizarre, but beautiful twist, a publisher contacted me pretty quickly after reading my manuscript.  What turned out to be more of a challenge was getting people to want to talk about it after. . . many don’t.  I understand that group. . . I was part of them for a long time.  I also know though, that there is another group longing to hear what I have to say, and that’s the group I continue to want to reach through the publicity I get for the book and the story.

My faith has helped me to see the experience as an exercise in commitment.  As if the Universe is asking me, how devoted are you, really?  How true was your promise, really?  A gifted opportunity from God, asking if I had done the work and was ready to rise above the fears I had from the get go, the fears about potential public reaction and judgment.   Regardless of the struggle and challenge, it has been a fantastical journey of balance and contrast, as well as crossing lines and blurring that I have witnessed and experienced.  I don’t know how I would have fared as I faced them, if not for the journey that took me to the book I would eventually write myself.  That journey was filled with many beautiful books that helped keep me in forward movement.  I was invited to share some that helped me create my new life, not long after the book was published by Julie Meyers Pron on her Julieverse Reads Series. 

I share part of that post here, now, in the same hope and faith. . . to inspire another that might be looking for some faith and hope, to keep moving out of a half-happy life towards a life of ALL-IN happiness.  https://julieverse.com/2015/12/08/inspirational-books/

Roger Housden’s Ten Poems to change your lifeTen Poems to Set You Free

All inspired, but the impact and magnitude of Mary Oliver’s “The Journey” moved me to tears. After reading, “one day you finally knew what you had to do and began”, I dried my eyes and kept moving, determined to save the only life I could, my own. I baby-stepped, but a rewarding new “journey” had begun.                                                            

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Ten-Poems-Change-Your-Life/dp/0340825103

Mitch Albom’s THE TIME KEEPERThe Time Keeper by [Albom, Mitch]

A tender tale about the fragility and gift of time is thoughtfully told, as well as the importance of how we choose to spend it. Reading about gentle Dor and his precious Alli reinforced my desire for a love so true.

https://www.amazon.com/Time-Keeper-Mitch-Albom-ebook/dp/B0087JTAKW

William P. Young’s THE SHACKThe Shack by [Young, William P.]

A sentimental pick since this was the last book my dad and I read before he passed. A work of fiction, the author originally wrote as a gift for his children, a heartfelt sharing about his God, wound up a present for my parent and his child. He shared so significantly and insight-fully his “story” now heads to the big screen. A beautiful story about faith, fortitude and redemption. . . about a dad and his daughter, a father and his son. . . and the unbreakable connection of love to bridge any gap and mend any broken heart. https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B002S0KB5Y/

Oriah Mountain Dreamer’s THE INVITATIONThe Invitation (Plus) by [Oriah]

A book that followed her very personal poem, The Invitation did just that. As I struggled to rise above my fears and move beyond the comfort zones keeping me from a more intimate, authentic life I was desperate for, her prose poem became like a good friend, gently guiding me to honor myself. When she asked, “I want to know if you can disappoint another to be true to yourself”, I accepted what my intuition had been whispering, only when I did just that, would I ever be able to be true to anyone else. https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B000WPXTJC/

Deepak Chopra’s WHY IS GOD LAUGHING

A delightful read that deeply affected at the same time. An immediate connection to Mike Meyers Foreword line, “They say the truth may set you free, but I find that the truth can be very painful at first”, hooked me. . . and I read it straight through. Deepak and Mike, together, walked with me as I made the choice to take “The Path to Joy: Ten Principles of Spiritual Optimism”. The book was like a funny friend to travel with as I acknowledged some not so funny stuff I’d been ignoring so I wouldn’t have to try to change it. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Why-God-Laughing-Spiritual-Optimism/dp/0307408892

Antoine De Saint-Exupery’s THE LITTLE PRINCE

An adult re-connection to the other-wordly lost soul, looking for his way home, reminded me of something we know intuitively as children. Re-reading helped re-route me back onto the road that follows the heart not the head. “It is only with the heart that one can see rightly. What is essential is invisible to the eye.” https://www.amazon.co.uk/Little-Prince-Wordsworth-Childrens-Classics/dp/1853261580

Darrell Hammond’s GOD, IF YOU’RE NOT UP THERE, I’M … 

Since memoir is my favorite genre, I included this poignant, powerful read. As this successful, famous comedian shares some intense pains pretty well hidden from fans, I felt a strong connection to his struggles. For me, it’s the beauty and strength of the memoir. When he recounts his dad’s apology from the other side, I remembered an invaluable truth; love never dies and can reach through what physically separates us, and it gave hope and help to my commitment to change my life. https://www.amazon.com/God-Youre-There-cked-Mind-Altering/dp/006206455X

Joan Steffand’s AND SHE SPARKLED 

Because it’s Christmas, Chanukah & Kwanzaa…and what girl doesn’t want to sparkle during the holidays? Paging through her lovely little book inspired me to shine my light. https://www.amazon.com/she-sparkled-Joan-Steffend/dp/0931674832

My journey almost destroyed me”.  Almost.  Boy, have I come to like that word.  What a pleasurable word “almost” can be.  You may almost be ready to buy my book.  You may almost be ready to begin an exciting new journey of your own.  You may almost be over that rainbow Judy Garland sings about.  What great potential “almost” can hold if you can flip your way of thinking.  Just imagine, controlled pessimism, doubt and fear flipped into blind optimism, faith and love.

That flip helped Tia move to a place where heaven meets earth. . . the pearly gates of her own happy ending.  Changing the ending for her story brought a pure, precious peace of heart, but kicked her butt a bit as she made her way. . . committed to keeping her faith. The book was a plan C, maybe even D, but Tia was determined, after a dedicated intention and divine decision to start swimming more with the current of her life, instead of bucking that flow.  Her ordinary, relatable story took an extraordinary, fantastical turn when she showed the Universe she was committed to her intention and her desire to be given an opportunity to make some new, different choices for herself.  EAAHE is a memoir that shares the “how’d that happen?” and the “how’d she do that?” in a holy hope of helping others to see life in a new way.

EAAHE recounts three interconnected relationships and stories that enable Tia to love truly, deeply, and most of all, love herself.  Three special circles she rounded with Ray, her dad, and her ex-husband.  A woman’s full circle journey to learn how to really trust, how to “thine own self be true”, and then, the “real and true” love it led her round back to.  It shares how the power of love and a journey to intimacy helped her make a faithful flip, which began a sacred circle and new chapter. . . one that would allow a different ending for a story she had begun writing for herself when she was much younger.  One that Tia feels strongly will inspire other women of a certain age keep faith that it’s not too late to write a new ending for their own, as they embrace their history, not try to re-write it.

Tia is, most days, filled with joy.  She is, every day, filled with peace.  She looks forward to a happy ending each new day now, however it unfolds, whomever it holds, and whatever way the Universe molds, as she continues to create a new “happily ever after”, staying committed to rising above her fears, moving out of her comfort zones, and going with the flow of her life.

http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/will-tia-shurina-give-ray-romano-a-happy-ending-new-memoir-reveals-relationship-and-unveils-transformation-300212049.html

Will Tia Shurina give Ray Romano a

http://everythingandahappyending.com/

Book Description

Everything and a Happy Ending, an award winning memoir published by Mascot Books, details the soulful shift of a story as Tia shares her holy grail and the trail she took to transform her life.  After moving through her own metamorphosis, she then helped an old friend, Ray Romano, move through his own transition, going with the flow very privately, but most profoundly.

A memoir about three interconnected relationships and three special men in my life. The fact that you’re reading this makes me happy. Maybe you’ve mistaken this for a how-to-give-a-good-happy ending, sexual self-help book. Maybe you’re reading because you have a genuine interest in another’s journey. Either way, I’m good. My journey almost destroyed me. Almost. Boy, have I come to like that word. What a pleasurable word almost can be. You may almost be ready to buy my book. You may almost be ready to begin an amazing new journey of your own. You may almost be over that rainbow Judy Garland sings about. What great potential almost can hold, if you can flip your way of thinking. Just imagine controlled pessimism, doubt and fear flipped into blind optimism, faith and love.  http://everythingandahappyending.com/

Here are what some customers are saying on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B015I13RDC/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1#customerReviews

on November 16, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
“This story is not the usual progression of life’s problems along the way to falling in love and ending up happy. The author has more than the usual portion of challenges of many kinds, and, though trying earnestly throughout the book to do what she believes to be right, finds that troubles will find her whatever she does. Her faith in God as she perceives God to be, and several very positive influences in her life are the things that lead her to her happy ending, even though it’s by a most circuitous route. The thing that is most startling and also most affecting is her determination to be the best person she can be. When in a difficult marriage she gives her husband the gift of letting him be who he is, she tries always to help and always to love. The world could use a little more of that, in my opinion.There are several elements which could be problematic, for instance a very unique and unconventional voice and often quoted slogans which guide her on her way. However, rather than causing the book to become hackneyed or saccharine, it adds to the individuality of the narrative. The protagonist is naive in ways, yet in others wiser than she appears. I found the book interesting, and at some parts inspiring.”
sa-blog-tour-host-1
“The tour is sponsored by 4WillsPublishing.wordpress.com.”
Thank you for popping in today.  Please support Tia Shurina – COMMENT/FOLLOW and BUY/READ/REVIEW – the steps which make all authors very happy and most grateful.
33 thoughts on “Blog Tour – Tia Shurina, Day Five

  1. You know Tia, when I read about your spiritual journey for self-liberation, I see a lost soul searching for its way home. Each lost soul goes through this process differently. Yours was extraordinary! I look forward to reading all about it. 🙂 Thank you, Maretha for hosting her.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Home”…what a holy place to feel you are in…no matter where it is physically, who may be sharing your space with you…or even…what’s going on outside of its “walls”! That is exactly my story…finding “home”. THANK YOU JOY! Thank you so much.
      Dear Maretha, what a gift I was given…7 beautiful hosts! Im so grateful for your part in a special 1st for me.

      Like

    1. My dad always said that if you’re scared of the water, how will you ever learn to swim? So jumping in is always the the first step to something positive, possibly leading to great things – who knows? 😂🤓

      Like

      1. Thank you so much Gwen…for reading the post…& your kind support. I agree…Maretha’s site is truly the work of a very talented artist & I am over the moon she allowed me to sit on it for a bit!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Another fab post with some great book mentions, Tia. Although most of the authors are new names to me, I’ve heard of Mitch Albom and have read some of his work.
    Maretha, thanks so much for hosting Tia on her 4WillsPublishing blog tour!!

    Like

    1. Thank You John! I’m honored, by your words & your stopping by to read mine! Happy Saturday.
      Maretha…what a beautiful job you did with my words…the colors…oh so lovely. THANK YOU, not just for hosting my words…but displaying them in such an incredibly beautiful light!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. What a wonderful collection of inspirational reading, Tia. I’m enjoying your tour immensely, and hope you are too! Best of luck with everything 🙂
    Maretha, thank you for hosting Tia today! 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh thank you Jan. I sense strongly A Freebooter’s Fantasy Almanac will be powerfully inspiring as well. Is on my ipad now…& I look forward to immersing myself. Thank you again for your kindness.

      Like

  4. I found this blog very interesting and intriguing, Tia! Your book sounds fascinating and I will put it on my list to read. I liked the list of books to read, I have read some of them, but not all. I liked all the details given.
    Great post Maretha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank D.L. & Maretha! For any movie lovers out there…The Shack opens in a couple weeks…& Im quite certain I’ll make a nice evening of it on opening day! Im curious to contrast the book with the movie! As a child, I was cast as The Little Prince & have loved that little guy since “meeting” him many years ago…but what a different re-read as an adult! I hope they each move you as they did me. Maretha…thank you again for such beauty you gave to that post!

      Like

  5. An interesting and informative post, Tia! I wish you further success and fulfillment as you progress on your journey through life. “Everything and a Happy Ending” is a great title. Maretha, as always a superbly presented post. Bravo to you both!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Suzanne…for your compliment, & your warm wishes as well. And I, send same loving energy rite back atcha! I agree…what a rite & perfect presentation Maretha gave to my post. A beautiful artist indeed. I have been blessed with such best, as I took a lovely leap to a blog!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

