Review – Milele Safari: An Eternal Journey – by Jan Hawke

Jan Hawke wrote a fabulous book which contains much information about Central Africa – the good, the bad, the ugly.  If you love romance, you’ll enjoy this book.  If you want to know a bit more about a few of the so-called “Big Five” you’ll read it here.  If you simply want to find out more about why the African Continent always lives with hope, whatever the circumstances, you’ll find it here. If you want to read wonderful descriptions about the Victoria Falls and other parts of Central Africa, you’ll be satisfied reading about it here.  If however, you want a quick read, this is not for you, because this story draws you in quietly, until there is no return.  You’ll have to read it all!  I hope you enjoy this particular eternal journey as much as I did.
Click on this link which will take you directly to the eBook.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Milele-Safari-Eternal-Jan-Hawke-ebook/dp/B00IIVXLKY
Milele Safari: An Eternal Journey by [Hawke, Jan]
 

By MarethMBotha on 26 Nov. 2016

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

“This book’s title began to haunt me even before I obtained it. I was born in Southern Africa and knew I just had to read Milele Safari. So I downloaded the eBook a few weeks ago, but work kept getting in the way. So whenever I had a moment, I would read more, and the more I read, the more fascinated I became. Milele Safari is more than reading for entertainment’s sake, it becomes an unforgettable experience, even though I had to keep my wits about me while digging deeper into this multi-faceted saga – individual stories, told from various viewpoints, yet all linked in a satisfactory way – keeping me on the edge of my chair most of the time.
The author writes excellent believable dialogue, whether expressed from the main characters’ point of view, or the antagonists’ threatening points of view. For example, the initial love affair between Sophie Taylor and Tom and later, his encounter with a religious cult, called “The Apostles” at Umbeke when he defends a nun and her well-doers.
Because the story covers roughly thirteen years and includes genocidal events, the author has used different fonts, which helped me to grasp when Sophie is in the present, or relives events of the past when writing in her diary.
The story has everything you would expect to find should you journey to Central Africa. So it contains not only excellent dialogue throughout, but wonderful descriptive scenes – magnificent Victoria Falls for example – put the reader inside the action, whether it’s an earthquake, dealing with elephant poachers or being part of a guided safari for film makers.
This backdrop sets the scene for Sophie’s future happiness, because she meets an attractive veterinarian, who understands life in Africa and they find a connection, which the author explores admirably.
I enjoyed the inclusion of quotes from THE RIME OF THE ANCIENT MARINER by Samuel Taylor Coleridge as an introduction to certain parts of Sophie’s diary and other events. No book such as this would be complete without mention of some of Africa’s so-called “Big Five”. I especially enjoyed Alyssa the leopard’s point of view. I recommend “Milele Safari … ” to anyone who does not want an instant-gratification-beginning-and-quick-end read. This saga slowly draws you in and does not let go easily. This is a memorable read.”

More About the Author

Jan Hawke

Biography

This will be pretty basic for now – I’m Jan, English, retired but hoping to be writing full time from now on.

I live near Launceston in Cornwall UK with Toby and Benji the Springer Spaniels – it’s a tie between us all as to who’s maddest, but as I outrank them in being weird anyway it’s not open to debate really.

I’m physically lazy with things that don’t hold much interest for me (so that’s mostly housework and, increasingly, cooking…), but I love where we live, mainly because I chose it for being so quiet and off the beaten track, very close to the moors and quite near to the sea.

I also love books, both to write and to read, the latter of which can be very eclectic (I enjoy Julian Barnes, Kate Atkinson, Jeanette Winterson and will happily admit to Jilly Cooper too) but in the main I’m heavily into SF&F, particularly Tolkien, Terry Pratchett and Julian May, although I can pass on Zombie Apocalypses fairly easily…

…how I’ve chosen to write about Africa for my first novel may be something of a surprise to my friends, but if you read it you may find that all of the above information manifests in there somehow!

Thank you for visiting my blog today!  Don’t forget to 

READ/COMMENT/FOLLOW!

P.S. If you have younger loved ones whom you would like to spoil, please pop in at my child-friendly blog called Fauna Park Tales.  Thank you!

https://marethabotha2013.com

3 thoughts on “Review – Milele Safari: An Eternal Journey – by Jan Hawke

  1. Thank you so much for this great review, Maretha. I always especially value feedback from people who’ve lived in Africa, as they KNOW what it’s like and the contrasts that exist on every level of life experience. I’m very glad you enjoyed my ‘slow burn’ approach and the ‘warts and all’ elements ❤

    Like

    1. Thanks Jan. I love your expression, “warts and all”. I think that is sometimes the drawback for readers who don’t understand the African way of doing things, but then I think that a book such as Milele Safari can help them to better insights. There is really so much to recommend your book, but then I’ll end up writing a separate book. If readers approach the reading with I’m in lfor the ong-haul, I think they’ll take a lot from it.

      Like

      1. Sorry for the mix up in words, but I’m on my iPad and the keyboard keeps jumping over my letters! I meant to say, if they view reading the book as if they’re in it for the long-haul, not a quick read.

        Like

Leave a Reply

